Shall I Hide?

The story of the destruction Sodom and Gomorrah is a truly horrific account. It is very easy to just pick and choose what things to read in the Bible and that is one story I would not choose.

However, when I read the section from Genesis 18 where Abraham pleads for Sodom I am encouraged to pray more. Abraham pleaded with GOD to save the city and he kept going with audacity and courage to change the situation. What if there are 50 righteous people? 45 … 40 … 30 …  20 … 10! This account is a challenge to anyone’s prayer life!

But the thing that stood out for me was the fact that GOD offered this opportunity to Abraham. He asks the question ‘Shall I hide from Abraham what I am about to do?’ (verse 17). GOD then chooses to reveal what He has planned to His friend and allows this mortal man to influence the outcome for the city. GOD cannot be manipulated, but He does appear to invite Abraham to influence Him.

I used these words because they seemed to sum up the background:

Shall I hide? I will reveal to my friend and let him influence me.

Genesis 18

It was only after I had finished this page that I read these words with another viewpoint.

What if I were to say this back to GOD? What would happen in my life then???

Shall I hide? I often feel like I actually hide from GOD. Now I know that I can’t hide from GOD because wherever I go He is there (Psalm 139)

Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
    if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
    your right hand will hold me fast.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me
    and the light become night around me,”
12 even the darkness will not be dark to you;
    the night will shine like the day,
    for darkness is as light to you.

But there is the decision that I make to either run to and hide in Him, or run away and hide in myself. The safest and best place is with Him, but sin – i.e. shame, self dependence, ignorance, arrogance, self pity … and all the other ugly stuff pushes the rebellious me to run away from Him. He sees it all and doesn’t push me away. It is only due to the kindness of the Holy Spirit that conviction, need for Him, wisdom, humility and mercy cause me to rush to hide in Him. My choice has to be to not hide from GOD.

Secondly, I wrote, ‘I will reveal to my friend and let him influence me.’ Wow! Really!! I mean, to reveal it all … I have to say that I am glad that people can’t read what goes on in my head. Don’t get me wrong, not all of it is bad, but there is some thought patterns that are not pretty and definitely not a facebook status. I don’t think I am alone in that …

I do have some amazing friends that are authentic and allow me to reveal what I have been thinking. They are great at helping me to see the lies and show me truth. Later in that same Psalm it says:

23 Search me, God, and know my heart;
    test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting.

If I were to mean these words, to reveal all of myself to GOD, I would be changed. I need to keep in mind that He is the King of all kings and supreme being, but He is also my friend. He has chosen not to destroy me but to die for me. He can cope with all my thoughts and mistakes. He is able to influence me so that I will become like a reflection of who He is. He wants to lead me in the way everlasting.

Shall I hide? No! I will reveal to my friend and let Him influence me.

5 thoughts on “Shall I Hide?

  1. Pingback: Funny timing | drawcloseblog

Leave a comment