Your Reflection

We live in a society that cares about appearances. We add filters to our photos and only post the best pictures of ourselves on facebook … let’s face it, would you use just any photo of you as your profile … be honest! I know that I prefer to be this side of the camera rather than in the spotlight. It matters to us how we look and what people think … right?!

They made the bronze basin and its bronze stand from the mirrors of the women who served at the entrance to the tent of meeting. Exodus 38:8

This verse jumped out at me. I’ve probably read it before, sandwiched between the details of the table, lampstand and courtyard. It is a single verse about the basins used for washing. The place that the priests would cleanse themselves. But in fact, it wasn’t really the basin that I was interested in, it was the detail that mirrors had been turned into this object.

The women who served at the entrance to the tent of meeting gave their mirrors so that the basin for the priests cleansing could be made. They no longer needed them … Why? They were still out in the wilderness, they still needed to at least comb their hair. They would need to check out what that new trend in make-up looked like on them … ok, perhaps they didn’t need it for that, but they obviously had the mirrors for checking out their appearance one way or another. The mirrors that they used would have not looked like the clear reflectors we use today. They would have been made from bronze, battered into a flat surface and polished so that a slightly distorted reflection could be seen. Why had they given them? What had changed?

The answer lies in the place where the women served – the entrance to the tent of meeting. I like to think that they were exposed to the presence of GOD, and therefore their perspective changed. They no longer needed to look at their dull and natural appearance, they no longer viewed themselves through a filter because they saw themselves as GOD saw them.

16 But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away. 17 Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. 18 And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit. 2 Corinthians 3:16-18

They were being transformed into the women that GOD had designed in the first place. Looking at Him was a better, more realistic and perfectly accurate reflection of who they were created to be. They had no use for the dim and distorted image anymore.

I took a moment to ask GOD what he saw when He looked at me. This is me …

IMG_0313

Who am I? What does GOD see? Do I see the same? NO! But who should I trust more? He is the one who created me and knows me. He is the one who knows my potential and the things that I have not yet walked into. He is the one who didn’t make mistakes when He created. Do I feel comfortable with how He sees me … frankly no!

When I awake I shall be satisfied with seeing your likeness. Psalm 17:15

I don’t want to cling onto looking at myself with all my imperfections and limits. It is time to do away with my dim and flawed reflection and instead trust Him with my appearance. I want to be satisfied with looking at His likeness. In being consumed by His likeness I am transformed into His image with ever increasing glory.

Are you brave enough to ask GOD what He sees when He looks at you?

Katy 😉

img_4941

Leave a Reply

