Rainbow

Well here we are -2017 is upon us! Happy New Year friends. I love the sense of hope and expectation that arrives as the clock ticks on from 11.59pm, like the turning of a page onto a fresh chapter. It’s as if whatever has gone before in the departing year, with all it’s joys and disappointments, it’s successes and failures, it’s laughter and tears, are put aside and we are given a fresh start. A new beginning.

And talking of fresh starts; Noah and his family, having spent more than a year cooped up in the ark, are now released from their noisy, crowded, smelly, floating home and they pour out into this blank canvas of a world to begin again. God makes an everlasting covenant with them (and also with us) promising never to flood the earth again. He tells them that the rainbow is the sign of this covenant.

“When the bow is in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.” – Genesis 9:16

Funny huh? That God should give himself a reminder. But I guess He knows that mankind will keep on giving Him cause to regret. He is always faithful to His promises “even though every inclination of the human heart is evil from childhood” (ch8:21)

On the week I was journaling this page I kept seeing rainbows everywhere – on t-shirts and stickers and hairbands and in photographs – and every time I saw one I remembered that He is always faithful and He keeps His promises –  even when my heart leads me to be otherwise. I love what Ezekiel prophesied;

“And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit within you” Ezekiel 36:26-27.

What an incredible promise from our amazing covenant keeping God. All of His promises are yes and amen in Jesus!

“..For all the promises of God find their Yes in him. That is why it is through him that we utter our Amen to God for his glory. And it is God who establishes us with you in Christ, and has anointed us, and who has also put his seal on us and given us his Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee”. – 2 Corinthians 1:19-22

I always love to start my year with a  scripture to set my course for the year ahead – I think I may have just found one. God’s promise to withhold judgement from mankind whose hearts are rebellious was fulfilled with a gigantic YES when Jesus took our judgement on Himself and gave us covenant relationship with God. He poured out His own Spirit into our hearts to transform us from stone to flesh, from death to life! Now that’s the life I want to live this year. Saying Yes back to the one who is the Yes to all of God’s promises! May each of you see many rainbow reminders and know His YES shouted over you this year.

Much love, Rach x

Ps. For more on this chapter see Katy’s post Be Fruitful

img_0206

Leave a Reply

