Child of God

Have you ever felt like you just aren’t good enough? Is that a silly question?! I have a feeling that at some point in everyone’s life we experience this horrid sensation. Sometimes it can leave us incapable of pushing through and we get stuck. Sometimes we come to this conclusion because of some failure on our side but other times it can be because of the result of others.

But is it true?

There are three verses in chapter 19 that tell the story of the disciples rebuking the people who were bringing their children to Jesus. They wanted him to place his hands on them and pray for them. This was an act of passing a blessing (Isaac did this with Jacob and Esau). The disciples considered that the children weren’t worth wasting Jesus’ time for. However, Jesus welcomes the children. He tells them the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.

Since I have responded to Jesus’ instruction to follow him, I have become a child of GOD. This got me thinking about the title of Child of GOD, and many of the other identity titles, that are often given to those that have given their life to Him.

Created, predestined, raised, seated, appointed, adopted, heir, accepted, chosen, united, hidden in him, known, royal, holy priesthood, temple.

These words of identity don’t describe someone who has little value or no worth. They talk of the opposite. Since the Bible states these things, perhaps we should line up our ideas with what GOD says about us rather than listening to other things. These are labels that are worth pondering …

Jesus shows us GOD. He lets us know what GOD would do … and here we see him reaching out to the children and blessing them. GOD welcomes His children and lets us approach Him unhindered – He wants us to approach Him. In fact, He removes all the rubbish that would stop us from approaching Him. We can approach His throne with the confidence of being His child.

Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence. Hebrews 4:16

This call to approach His throne is not one of timidity or caution. We don’t have to convince Him of our goodness, worthiness or try to gain access. It isn’t even one of drawing close slowly … we can run to Him knowing that He is now our Father.

Even when I mess up, as children often do, I know that my brother, Jesus, continues to pray and intercede for me.  He declares a blessing over me. I don’t have to make myself clean or better, I can still run to His throne just as I am. What amazing grace that is!

The truth is, as a Child of GOD, I can approach my Father’s throne. The thing that tells me I am worthless needs to submit to a greater authority.

Katy 😉

2 thoughts on “Child of God

Leave a Reply

