Guardian Redeemer

Today I am going to take you through a bit of my creative and study process … but there will be plenty of things to chew on so please read on.

Like I said in One Choice Ruth is a very short book so first of all I read the whole thing. This  second page was about the rescue plan for Ruth.

Ruth, a young widow and Naomi, her widowed mother-in-law move back to Bethlehem because it was once Naomi’s home. Ruth serves Naomi and feeds her by gleaning the scraps of seed left at the edges of the fields for the poor.

But news of Ruth’s attitude and character reach the field’s owner, Boaz, and he is impressed. Boaz tells her to stay in his fields and he will ensure her protection. After he tells her what he has heard of her he adds, what I can only describe as a blessing.

May you be richly rewarded by the LORD, the God of Israel, under whose wings you have come to take refuge. Ruth 2:12

When I pictured this little phrase, I immediately thought of the chicken gathering her chicks under her wings … but to me, that seems a little weak for this even if it is Biblical (Matthew 23:37)! … But it was a picture reference.

A little later I read about Boaz discovering that he is Guardian Redeemer to Naomi and Ruth. Guardian Redeemer (in the foot notes and internet search)- is a male relative who, according to various laws of the Pentateuch, had the privilege or responsibility to act on behalf of a relative who was in trouble, danger, or need, he delivers and rescues. Boaz becomes the one who is able to physically rescue her from poverty because he ends up marrying her. I wonder if Boaz was aware that he would be the one to fulfill the blessing that he pronounced over Ruth?! He would become the rich reward for her. I love that GOD has a sense of humour! Sometimes we become the answers to our prayers.

The idea of the Guardian Redeemer cannot just be overlooked! It is applicable for me and you today. GOD chooses to be our Guardian Redeemer. He acts on our behalf to deliver and rescue us from trouble and danger, He is the one that provides for us in all our need.

Ruth had trusted in the unknown GOD and had chosen to find shelter with Him and under His wings. She is a great example. GOD has become my guardian redeemer under whose wings I have chosen to find shelter. The term ‘under whose wings you have come to take refuge’ seems to fit in with this idea of guardian redeemer. Now I really did need to think bigger than a chicken! This is not a chicken moment!! No! GOD is strong, He is a defender of the weak, powerful and mighty … not a fluffy fowl! When I take refuge under His wings I know that nothing gets past Him. He is a fierce protector and guardian. I began to think of an eagle as it is a top predator; it rules from the skies.

10 In a desert land he found him,

    in a barren and howling waste.
He shielded him and cared for him;
    he guarded him as the apple of his eye,
11 like an eagle that stirs up its nest
    and hovers over its young,
that spreads its wings to catch them
    and carries them aloft. Deuteronomy 32:10-11

These verses in Deuteronomy describe the type of wings I want to take refuge under. They also have the feel of the guardian redeemer to them.

GOD is my guardian redeemer who promises to vindicate and defend me. He is like the eagle. He came to me first and found me in the desert – I would never have looked for Him. He shielded and cared for me when I was in the barren place just like He did for Ruth. He may stir up my comfy nest sometimes and force me into the air to fly, but He is ever hovering over me. He catches me when I don’t read the thermals and make a mess. He doesn’t leave me to drop like a stone but carries me aloft in His strength and wisdom.He delivers and rescues me from death. Under the wings of my guardian redeemer I choose to take refuge, for me to choose to be under any other wing would be reckless and foolish.

I had my idea and design for my page, and now I was ready to complete it. I didn’t prepare it with gesso, but then my pens aren’t as fluid as they were when new. I drew a massive eagle spreading its wings using pencil to layout the main shapes then used my black fine liners to complete the image. I think the simple black and white image is all that is needed, except the red highlights of the applicable or referenced verses. The font was found on a font website (this is a handy tip if you are happy to have a go and copy).

Katy 😉

img_8513

Leave a Reply

