Special Favour

When I gave birth to my three beautiful daughters one of the trickiest bits (obviously apart from the labour itself… and the recovery…and the sleeplessness…and the feeding…and parenting generally…ūüėā) was choosing their names. ¬†It’s a big deal right? They have to live with that name for a long time and you want to make sure it’s a good one. ¬†I have to be honest but in all of the reading of baby-name books and the searching of baby-name websites that I didn’t once consider calling any of them Aksah! Apparently it means “an anklet or bangle” so I can see why it wasn’t at the top, or indeed on the bottom, of my list. But Caleb obviously liked the name as he had a daughter with it! Dear Aksah doesn’t get a lot of credit as a bible hero, or indeed very much of a mention, but she is definitely worth noticing. ¬†She is given in marriage to Othniel who she encourages to ask her father for a piece of land;

“One day when she came to Othniel she urged him to ask her father for a field. ¬†When she got off her donkey, Caleb asked her “What can I do for you?” She replied, “Do me a special favour. Since you have given me land in the Negev, so give me also springs of water.” So Caleb gave her the upper and lower springs.” Joshusa 15:18-19¬†

Caleb is the typical dad here – at the sight of his daughter his immediate response is “What can I do for you?”. ¬†Isn’t that lovely? ¬†She tried to encourage her new husband to ask but before he could get the words out her daddy is offering. ¬†And I love her audacity! ¬†He has already given her land but she knows that land without water is not going to be a place of abundant life and fruitfulness. “Give me also springs of water”. What a outstandng request. ¬†Aksah¬†knows that her daddy has it within his power to change her lot from ok to downright awesome! ¬†I have a friend who had many sons before she had her daughter. It is just hilarious to watch this beautiful little princess melt her father’s heart. ¬†It is so hard for him to say no to her. ¬†Dads love to say yes, so Caleb does, but not only that, but a double measure – the upper and the lower springs! What a beautiful picture of the Father’s heart. ¬†Not a begrudging “Ok then” but an overflowing plenty of Yes and Yes again. More than you ask or imagine.

I know I said last week that I wanted to be like Caleb, and I still do, but this week I want to be like Aksah too! ¬†It is good to be content and it’s great to be grateful but I don’t want to settle for ok when my Heavenly Dad has it within His power to change my lot to downright awesome! ¬†And I know His heart is one that loves to say yes to bring about abundant life and fruitfulness. ¬†God wants us to be audacious daughters (and sons) asking for more of Him in our lives! ¬†You might feel like an inadequate daughter or a disappointing son but the good news is that it doesn’t matter – our Yes isn’t down to us because of Jesus!

“For all the promises of God find their Yes in him. That is why it is through him that we utter our Amen to God for his glory.¬†And it is God who establishes us with you in Christ, and has anointed us,¬†and who has also put his seal on us and given us his Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee.”- 2 Corinthians 1:20-22

We, like dear Aksah, don’t just get our father’s yes, because of Jesus, but we also get double measure springs of His Spirit living in us causing His life to grow in dry, barren places and making us fruitful. ¬†It makes me think about what Jesus said to the woman at the well;

 

“…¬†“Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again,¬†but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” – John 4:13-14

Praying for all of you who read this blog today to know that you have a Father who loves to say Yes to your requests. ¬†He is waiting and asking “What can I do for you?”. ¬†He has the power to take your ok, or even your not really ok and transform it in to downright awesome for His glory! ¬†And I’m praying that He pours out His Spirit in every dry and dusty place that you find yourself causing eternal life to spring up today. Thanks so for reading.

Much love Rach x

image

3 thoughts on “Special Favour

  1. Pingback: Hope and Plot Twists | drawcloseblog

Leave a Reply

