Being Known

Back in Two … I talked about Esau selling his birthright to Jacob for a bowl of stew. Here, we catch the story of Jacob stealing Esau’s blessing too.

Jacob’s mother encouraged and helped him to dress, smell and feel like Esau so that his old father would be fooled. The trick worked and the blessing, last thing that Isaac could traditionally give to Esau, was stolen. This was such a big thing to be taken away from him, that Esau planned to kill Jacob. Jacob, therefore had to flee.

Isaac had a favourite son and it was not Jacob. The blessing that was supposed to be given to Esau was handed over because of deception – again Jacob lived up to his name. The only way that Jacob could get the best from his father was to pretend to be someone else.

It is common, I have found, that I adapt to the environment. For example, if I was invited to afternoon tea with the queen I don’t think I would wear my jeans, kick off my shoes and put my feet on the sofa. I would probably purchase a special dress for the day, put on make-up and perfume, make sure that I had some interesting things to talk about and eat whatever was put in front of me. That may be described as manners, but I can also see it as becoming a slightly different version of myself.

Sometimes this behaviour can become extreme. We can think that in order to fit in we must become more like the people who already fit. It can even be ‘confirmed’ by other people encouraging us to be like them much like Jacob’s mother. This can manifest itself with appearance, how we speak, what we have strong opinions on, how we treat others, what we do in public … etc … It can even creep in without us realising it because we have a need to be loved.

Genesis 27 (2)

This is not how I need to behave with my Heavenly Father. I don’t need to pretend to be someone else so that He will bless me. He has a blessing designed for me that will not be stolen away. He cannot be fooled by a costume, a smell or behaviour, He really knows who is hidden underneath it all. He knew me before anyone else knew me, He knew me when I did amazing things and rubbish things, He knew me yesterday and He will know me tomorrow. He has seen the best and worst of me and has never abandoned me but instead invested all He has for me by sending His son. I know that there is only one place I need to hide; in the grace of GOD, clothed with righteousness that has been given to me by Jesus. There is no need become like someone else in order to find favour with Him. I find favour with Him as I am. He created me to be me. He will not turn His back on me, reject me or withdraw His love from me. I am His and He is mine. I can trust Him as my Father to lead me by my hand into wide open spaces and not into dead ends.

The same is true for you too. He knows me fully and He knows you. I want to encourage you to come out of hiding because there is no need to hide from Him.

Katy 😉

Leave a Reply

