Knock knock

So the story continues – I was out the gate in my bible art journalling journey, and I can’t even begin to describe quite how life changing I have found it. I love the way the Holy Spirit will highlight a particular phrase or word, and the time that it takes to think about what to draw means that I am slowly chewing over and digesting what I have read, instead of just moving on.  I found myself waking up in the middle of the night thinking about the words I had studied. I also love that using the right side of my brain engages my memory, so what I see, as an image, I can recall in a way that the old grey matter would struggle to remember as just words. It was like a lightbulb switching on in my head and I couldn’t wait to go back for more.

The second scripture that God really underlined to me as a key for this year was Luke 11:9-12

“So I say to you: ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. Which of you fathers, if your son asks for a fish, will give him a snake instead? Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him!”

Sometimes we can make it all so complicated when it really as pretty simple – Jesus says if you need something then ask Him.  I love the picture that He paints here of a father delighting to give good gifts to his son.  It’s not a case of having to twist his arm up his back to overcome his reluctance, or needing to be fearful that he might give you something dangerous instead of nutricious – of course not! It is a father’s heart to be able to say Yes! To satisfy his child’s hunger. My daughter’s birthday is coming up and I find myself having to be really self-controlled in my planning otherwise I could go completely crazy lavishing her with things I know she would enjoy, but I am on a budget! My heavenly Father is not on a budget – He is the maker of heaven and earth; “How much more will your Father in Heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask”.  The book of James talks about this subject a bit – he tells us that we don’t have because we don’t ask! Have you ever been there?  James also applies this principle to wisdom;

“If anyone lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him” James 1:5

How often I find myself perplexed or confused, not knowing what to do or how to respond to a situation, when my heavenly Father has wisdom He is wanting to give me and just waiting for me to ask?

The other thing that stood out with this page was that “everyone” who asks receives, but “the one” who seeks finds, and “the one” who knocks gets the open door!  I think this speaks of the amazing grace of the Father who answers prayers and gives lavishly to “everyone”, but not everyone is prepared to really seek Him.  Sometimes we are content with asking and receiving, but there is more to find for the one who goes looking.  And not everyone is brave enough to knock on the door, but to those who do – there is open door access, an invitation to come in!  I want this year to be a year where I ask – not missing out on His goodness and grace because I didn’t bother.  But I also don’t want to settle for just asking – I want to seek Him for more and to come boldly up to the door and bang with all my strength, knowing Jesus has made a way for me to enter in.

I hope reading this reminds you to keep asking and seeking, and that you know that sometimes you don’t need a key – you just need to knock.  Love Rach.

3 thoughts on “Knock knock

  1. Pingback: Why dread the summer holidays?… And other questions… – Playful prayer

Leave a Reply

