Thinking…

Hello friends, Rachel here.

This post is about my first page but I also wanted to talk a bit about how I started bible art journalling in the hopes that some of you might have a go. The journey began for me when my lovely parents bought me a journal bible for Christmas.  My sister has been drawing in her bible for a while now and I was so inspired by how she used her creativity to express what she was reading. I was keen to have a go, but also found it very hard to start.  Where do you start? How do you start? Is it really ok to put paint and pen all over God’s word?  What if it goes wrong and I make a mistake or rip a page or don’t like what I’ve done? – it’s God’s word!!  Ha – it took me nearly the whole month of January to wrestle through these questions and get to a place where I was peaceful.  Knowing that this particular bible is for this particular purpose really helped me. It is not my only bible so I know I can still study in other places. Looking back at my previous journals I have big chunks of scripture written out, amongst my thoughts and prayers and drawings, so treating this book as more of a journal with the scriptures already in really helped me. It is important for me though that I can still read all the words on the page – personally I don’t like to idea of covering up any of the context or effectively deleting sections with my art. This just means paint needs to be thinned enough, illustrations kept in the margin or stuck in on flaps. I can do that.  And I also needed to get to the place of being ok with making mistakes because this is more about documenting the journey of what God is saying and doing in my life – and mistakes are part of the process!  Ain’t that the truth?!  It was a bit of a battle to be honest – dealing with some religion and perfectionism, but it’s always good to deal with those.

Meanwhile, as I was praying about the start of the new year, God began to put a few key scriptures on my heart for this year – so seeing how this was what He was speaking to me about – this was where I decided to start.

The first of these was Philippians 4:8;

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right,
whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – 
if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things. 
I love this verse, and the whole passage encouraging us to rejoice all the time, not to worry but to bring our concerns to God as prayer instead – and He promises that His peace will guard our hearts and minds in Christ Jesus!  This section of scripture has been a little treasure chest for me, especially in parenting my kids (it’s such a fab tool for kids who struggle with nightmares – empowering to know that our thoughts are under our own control!) but it has been a fresh challenge to me this year.  One of the things I love about reading my bible is that I get to know what God’s voice sounds like – it becomes familiar.  Jesus talked about the sheep recognising the shepherd’s voice so they don’t follow the thief.  The thief (“the accuser of the brothers” as Revelation describes him) comes to kill, steal and destroy but Jesus comes to bring life. And Jesus’ words sound like Him – He is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent and worthy of praise. This year I want my head to be full of thoughts of Him.  And I hope this key unlocks some truth for some of you too.  Love Rach. x

 

One thought on “Thinking…

  1. Pingback: Gracious Promises | drawcloseblog

Leave a Reply

