Creative Word

Genesis 1

So here it is, my first page in my journaling Bible and I really don’t like it! It doesn’t explain what I wanted or look beautiful at all. But you know what, even that has taught me something (other than to do your first entry on a sketch book and loosen up a bit first!).

I am a bit of a perfectionist. I am not as bad as I used to be, but I still cringe a little at the thought that this is out there in cyberspace. So what is going on? I am comparing myself to others. I hate that! Why does my brain go down that route??

Recently I heard a friend say that if she feels irrational fear about doing something, she now sees it as an opportunity to step over fear.

I could very easily just show you what I did to change this page and pretend like it never happened, but I am choosing to step over the fear that you won’t came back to this blog and think bad thoughts about me!

The first lesson in Bible journaling – Don’t compare what you do with others. I mean it! If you start down that route you will either consider yourself better (which is pride) or not go back to your Bible (which is a missed opportunity for relationship with GOD). So, right here, I am saying, let’s not do that either. Let’s not let that rubbish rob us of what an adventure this can be.

The great news is, if you don’t like what you have drawn in your margin, you can do it again. All you need is a little bit of paint or a pretty piece of paper and you can start afresh. I came back to this page after a few weeks of Bible journaling and re-worked it. I painted over the left hand page and illustrated a promise that GOD gives in Jeremiah 29:13 and covered the right hand margin with some paper (but left it as a flap so I could still read the notes I had written underneath).

Genesis 1 (2)

Creative Word

GOD amazes me! The beginning, Genesis, of all things is an incredible account. GOD only has to speak a word and it happens. In Luke 1:37 is says “No word of GOD will ever fail.” Does this mean that the universe is still responding to that word, “Let there be light” as His voice reaches it?

I loved this idea of light. It is a very spiritual image.

Matthew 4:16 Light in the darkness, Matthew 5:16 Light wherever I go, Psalm 119:105 Light on my path, John 1:5 Light to banish darkness, Psalm 27:1 Light to remove fear, John 8:12 Jesus light of the world, 1 John 1:5-9 GOD is light, Psalm 119:130 Light brings understanding, 1 Peter 2:9 Called into the light …

Since GOD gives light to my path, light to my understanding and calls me out of darkness and into light, I have dedicated this first page to a promise He declares.

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:13

Let this be the promise that I carry as I begin to explore the Bible creatively. I want to seek Him.

5 thoughts on “Creative Word

  1. Love the lightbulbs, and that you didn’t let comparing yourself to others stop you! Also love that you gave yourself a second chance, just like God gives us! I have just put a journaling Bible on my wish list so it’s great to have some inspiration.

    Like

  2. Pingback: In the beginning… | drawcloseblog

Leave a Reply

